#BIGEASTtrack Championships Presented By Jeep Starts Sunday

You are here

GENEVA, Ohio  – The 2020 BIG EAST Indoor Track & Field Championships presented by Jeep returns to Spire Institute on Sunday for the second consecutive year. Villanova returns as the two-time defending champions on both the men’s and women’s sides. The Wildcats are looking to earn their ninth title for the men and 17th for the women.

Championship Central

Heat Sheets

Live Results

Watch Live On BEDN presented by SoFi (Sunday)

Watch Live On BEDN presented by SoFi (Monday)

Action begins 10 a.m. ET on Sunday with the first events of the pentathlon. Field events start at noon with trails followed by finals. Running races begin at 12:30 p.m. and will continue through 4 p.m. Eleven of Friday’s running races will be trials, the 5,000-meter event and distance medley relay will be finals. The pentathlon events will also finish up on Friday. The first events of the heptathlon start at 12:15 p.m. and will finish on Monday. 

Monday’s schedule begins at 10 a.m. with the final events of the heptathlon. Field events will begin at 10:30 a.m. Running events will start at 10:20 a.m., kicking off with the unseeded section of the 3,000-meter event.  Starting with the mile at 11 a.m., all running events will be medal runs. 

The BIG EAST Digital Network presented by SoFi will once again cover the running events live starting at 12:15 p.m. on Sunday and 10:45 a.m. on Saturday with Matt Schumacker on the call. BEDN Correspondent Johnny Soper will have trackside interviews with the winners. Field and multi-events will be taped and highlights will be inserted into the two-day broadcast.

The awards ceremony will begin approximately at 2:40 p.m. ET and will be covered by BEDN. Trophies will be given to the team champions and runners up; most outstanding track performer, most outstanding field performer and high point scorer for the men and women.

There are 13 student-athletes looking to defend their 2019 individual champion titles:

For the women (alphabetically by team)

  • Kiersten Walker, DePaul  -- 400m
  • Amarys Berry, St. John’s – Shot Put
  • Olivia Morgan, Villanova – Pentathlon
  • Ashley Preston, Villanova – Pole Vault
  • Trudy-Ann Williamson, Villanova – 60m, 200m

For the men (alphabetically by team):

  • Euan Makepeace, Butler – 3,000m
  • Wade Walder, Butler -- Heptathlon
  • Lawrence Leake, Georgetown – 200m, 400m
  • Ruach Padhal, Georgetown – 800m
  • Daniel Armstrong, Marquette  -- High Jump
  • Cameron Jemison, Marquette – Pole Vault
  • Samuel Johnson, Marquette – Long Jump
  • Andrew Marston, Villanova – 5,000m

Villanova’s Trudy-Ann Williamson will be looking for a three-peat in the 60-meter dash. Williamson was the Most Outstanding Co-Performer in Track Events on the women’s at last year’s meet. She also tied for High Point Performer with 20 points. 

Marquette’s Daniel Armstrong will be on the hunt for win No. 4 in the High Jump. Only Jim Hopson of Connecticut has won the men’s indoor high jump four times (1980-83). It has not been done since. 

In addition to Williamson, Georgetown’s Lawrence Leake and Butler’s Wade Walder were also major award winners at the 2019 Championship. Leake was the 2019 Men’s High Point Performer with 22.5 points. Walder won Most Outstanding Performer in Field Events. 

On the Thursday following the championship, the all-conference team will be announced. The all-conference team includes all top three finishers in the meet.


# # #